Poppy

By Poppy

Seal Pup

After the gales of the last few days, I thought we'd have a wander along the shore to see what had been washed up.

We came across this Grey Seal pup which seemed to have got itself wedged between rocks. Ollie and I got quite close to it, but it didn't seem to be able to get itself turned round and get back down to the sea. I rang Ross at the Seal Rescue Centre and he came and to have a look.

By the time he got to us the pup had got itself out of the cleft but still had a large outcrop of rock between it and the sea and looking tired from all its exertions. Ross was happy that it was a nice fat healthy pup and as the tide was rising he was sure it would be able to float off without any problems. He assured me I'd been right to call him, but said that pups once weaned did haul up and sleep between the tides and would usually be fine. He left us and headed off to another call out in Deerness . . .

I took more than 20 shots of the pup, this is just as we said good bye to it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.