Jacqui's World

By HappyJacqui

Sir William Pickles Hartley's Grave.

After going to find Sir William Pickles Hartley's grave the other day in the old graveyard in Trawden (from 1698) I thought I would blip Ted next to it.

Sir William started making and selling jam when he was 10 years old when he lived in a poor area of Colne. By the time he was 21 he was a millionaire and built a large factory in Bootle near Liverpool. He was a great benefactor to the town of Colne and so was his daughter Christiana.

Christiana had a Silver Mace made for the Mayor of Colne by a famous silversmith called George Jenson for Copenhagen and I used to carry it when I was the Mayors Attendant for Pendle (Seven area's came together to make Pendle in 1974). It is worth a lot of money not just because it is silver but because of who made it. She is also buried in the graveyard.

Ted and I are very upset that their graves are not being looked after.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.