Bennets Bar, Edinburgh

Ultimately, even above the Café Royale in this same city, this may be my favourite bar anywhere in the world. Of course, there is nostalgia and early formative experience powerfully influencing my choice including all those early Friday nights with people I had just met in my class in university and who would go on to be life long friends. And the imaginative travels around Scotland we made as we sampled the malt whiskies of which there are many on the shelves, again not knowing at the time that I would live one day just downwind of the Highland Park Distillery, propose marriage in the grounds of the Bunnahabhain Distillery and run many work sessions inside Knockando Distillery. Who would have thought it all those years ago as I got my tongue and throat around ordering one more Bruichladdich for the road!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.