fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Look, ma, no instructions!

A few weeks ago, my first wife, Katherine, mentioned she was getting rid of a loft bed and asked me if I wanted it for Dan. Funnily enough, it was *exactly* what I needed so I gave a resounding yes and, last week, when I had the van hired, I picked it up.

It was a lot bigger than I expected and rather heavy, too, being made entirely of metal but I eventually got it home and then up to flights of stairs to Dan's room. And today we decided to try and assemble it.

Now I'm not naturally gifted when it comes to DIY but over the last year, my lovely chum Dean has boosted my confidence enormously and I approached the job with something approaching enthusiasm, despite the lack of assembly instructions.

And, despite a minor hiccup or two - which resulted in my having to disassemble a significant part of what we'd done - we got their in the end. And it's sturdy enough that I'm quite happy that Dan will be sleeping in it tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.