One Street: Finished!

This is the new market on The Moor, completed and open. I went to have a look round, and it was ok, but some of the stalls are not yet occupied. Lots of nice fresh produce, and interesting stalls but not terribly characterful compared to the likes of Doncaster and Barnsley. I suppose that's inevitable with a new place, and the big plus is that it has brought to life a part of the city centre that was looking a little tired, and the existing businesses in the area will welcome it. I joined in with the One Street project this year on Blip, and have posted the progress of this new market pretty much every month. I have an idea of my own that I've been hatching for next year, based on this idea, namely One River. I am going to try and follow the length of the River Don, from source to the Humber, in small instalments next year. It's not always possible to walk alongside the river, but part of the Trans-Pennine trail more or less shadows it for a lot of its course, so I'll aim to walk as close as I can. Also, it's the nearest river to where I live, and anyone who has followed my journal will know I've posted many images of the landscape and urban wildlife of the river. I'm not going to set any limits or targets for myself - just to post images of my journey and of the river locally and in the centre of Sheffield, but I'll tag the One River if anyone else would like to celebrate their local river, and show it in its different guises throughout 2014, then please join me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.