shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

Sunrise from the train

A beautiful sunrise this morning on the way to work. I am now back on Arran for a few days, which will be great. Hopefully the weather will allow me a few nice photographic opportunities.

Thank you for your kind words on yesterday's blip. As I type I am watching the documentary about Mandela, it just makes me so sad that a situation like that could ever exist, that people could treat each other like that, yet there is still so much inhuman treatment, and so much still. I would recommend that you read some other blips on the same subject which I have found particularly interesting. Booky Goatherd's blip about meeting Mandela in 1990 is fantastic, and Vuvu's experience of the changes in South Africa are wonderful.

As I have written several times, I am very proud to live in Glasgow. Glasgow is the city which awarded Nelson Mandela the Freedom of the City back in 1981, which meant a lot to him (see this BBC article). What I love most of all as a reflection of Glaswegian humour and desire to make a point was the decision to rename a street in his honour 5 years later. A nice idea you think, but for those of you from further afield, you need to understand that the best bit is which one they chose. Now it is just another city centre street, I pass through Nelson Mandela Place each day and Shine-A-Light has blipped some of the tributes left there today, but back in 1986, it was home to the South African Consulate. What an address for them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.