Making it all better

The day started well - a dusting of snow and up in plenty of time for the bus to Edinburgh. Time to walk Betty, do some laundry, take some pictures of the snow dust and then it dawned on me what I knew to be true: the bus to Edinburgh will never take less than 2 hours. No matter how long my brain had tried to convince me that the 9:05 would miraculously arrive at 10:08 and lead me with a very comfortable hour to get to campus for my tutorial. But I still had plenty of time to get the 8:30, which would still get me there with a whisker to spare. Except that the price we have paid for the late bus enabling us to actually go and get some of that capital culture is that there is only one bus before 9am: at 6:35.

I got myself into a pickle. The almost not going into Edinburgh at all kind of pickle. But I got on the 9:05 anyway, got to the tutorial and sorted out that an hour was better than nothing from both mine and the tutor's perspective and then met up with the lovely EmH for coffee and cake in the soul-soothing emporium of John Lewis.

And I found THE stocking filler present which will dispel for at least another year the thought that Father Christmas might not be really real. From the Pound Shop. Double win!

It was a day which could have gone badly wrong, but ended up being righter than right. And made the next pickle a whole lot easier to kick into touch. With a little help from my chums.

Thank you x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.