It's all about me...

Sorry for the melodrama but life sucks right now!

My Mum rang me on Monday night to tell me she has been diagnosed with cancer. Not the phone call you want to make or receive! Fortunately it appears that it is entirely treatable and she is to start radiotherapy next week.

Now, a cancer diagnosis in my family is not necessarily something to panic about. My Dad, sister and I have all fought cancer and won. So there is no reason to think otherwise for Mum - but after the death of Blaze (my lovely son) in October, we are still reeling as a family, and Mum's diagnosis has added to that. Most of us are just hanging in on a very fine thread.

Mum and Dad came up to visit me this weekend (and my sister came down to join us for a night) - a wonderful visit that I have appreciated enormously. We've all done some crying but we've done some laughing and planning too. It has been great. This evening Mum, Dad and I went down to the river on a tui hunt - and found lots of them. I had my long lens on, which isn't ideal for portrait photography, but I managed to get this one of Mum and Dad. I will treasure it.

I know that at my age I am extremely fortunate to still have both my parents, but I've lost a son this year. I REFUSE to lose a mother too. So this radiotherapy better damned well work!!

Love you, Mum and Dad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.