Inverness Castle on a snowy morning.

Caught the early bus into town, and had a wander about before work. I usually only go in at lunchtime, when time is tight, and things are busy. At the weekend I keep well clear, especially at this time of year. It was good to have a slow meander when it wasn't busy. I was surprised by how many shops that had changed over the last year. Several that I'd never even noticed.

Sad news on the radio this morning, that Nelson Mandela had died late last night. I was moved by how his people, whilst greatly saddened at the loss, seemed to sing joyfully. Perhaps out of gratitude for his very existence, and what he achieved.

Other news was of the bad flooding down South. Locally, the River Ness did flood yesterday lunchtime, but nothing like what happened elsewhere. According to the Inverness Courier (local rag), only one house was flooded in Douglas Row. I walked by at lunchtime, and all the doorways still had sandbags across them. Huntly Street, and the Shore Street roundabout were also affected yesterday. I spoke to one of the Engineers involved in the flood alleviation works - the main problem was the surge caused by the storm's low pressure area, combined with the Spring tide. The water level had risen about a metre and a half higher than it was today.

Thanks for all the comments yesterday. Despite the circumstances, I was really upbeat (for a change!) all day, and wasn't too bothered at all that happened. Perhaps out of relief that no real harm had come to myself or others nearby. We escaped fairly lightly...

Car back this evening. One of the rear drum cylinders had failed such that the brake fluid was squirting out into the drum, resulting in zero pressure on the (now contaminated) pads. Pads and broken parts replaced, and the bill wasn't as bad as expected, much to my relief.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.