Dotspan

By Dotspan

EAGLE SCOUT PROJECT - BEACH GRASS ON THE DUNES

Thomas our 14 year old grandson completed all the requirements for his Eagle Scout Project to plant beach grass on the dunes. He raised monies and purchased 3,000 plugs of beach grass as well as Goldenseal Plants to attract the Monarch Butterflies.

Today's Blip -- Thomas and his proud Yia Yia . . .(Greek for Grandma)

EAGLE SCOUT PROJECT, PROTECT ROGER’S BEACH OF
THE VILLAGE OF WESTHAMPTON BEACH
" My name is Thomas , I am a lifelong resident of the Village of Westhampton Beach. I am a Boy Scout in Troop 62 of Westhampton Beach and I have just begun working on my Eagle Scout project to help protect our local beach from erosion by planting beach grass. I love the beach and I wouldn’t want anything to happen to it. I do a lot of activities at the beach especially in the summer and most of them happen at the beach like surfing, swimming, and relaxing. I want to protect our beaches for future generations to enjoy.

I first became concerned about Roger’s Beach after Hurricane Sandy when the beach lost a lot of beach grass and sand. Planting new beach grass and installing sand fencing at Rogers Beach would prevent further erosion and provide protection for our beaches from future storms". Written by Thomas as part of his flyer he handed out to raise monies for his project.

Todays temperature was 34 degrees. Thomas organized the project and was helped today by 12 of his troop members and friends. Hot chocolate was served as the boys worked from 11-2. What a day!

We're so proud of all Thomas has achieved. We hope the weather will cooperate so that Phase 11 can be completed next weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.