rachelsmom

By dorrit

What's left of the Squid

Rach and I went to the beach after work this evening to see the squid that were all over the beach yesterday. Unfortunately, or fortunately if you are a seagull, they got there before us. I have never seen so many seagulls just swimming around in the shallows waiting for more dinner to float up to them! The rest of the gulls were still feasting on what was left (which wasn't much as you can see from this photo) I know its not a very pretty picture but its sort of part of the "Florence folklore" like the 41 beached whales a long time ago (People are still talking about the decision to blow them up and one landed on a car!) or when our city council passed an ordinance against nudity (or sex, I can't remember which) anywhere in Florence and after it appeared on the news all over the U.S. they realized they had forgotten the word "public". Just recently, my daughter found a very young (about 3.5 ft long) Great White Shark beached in this same spot which I blipped on 8/6/09. So the fact that squid decided to make our Florence beaches their final resting place is hardly newsworthy at all! Still.....I thought you might be interested.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.