Dutch tales

By ThisIsGerda

Another houseboat

At least, I think it's another houseboat, I didn't check with the other photo I put up three weeks ago. Today was the last day of a three-day training about a 'new' way to approach the library customer. It's not very new to me, I am already inclined to make small talk and to see if I can help them find a book. But now that is the official way to work, pay more attention, get them to borrow more books. Our subsidy depends amongst other things on the amount of books that are borrowed. The message of the training was 'our future depends on it'. I don't believe that myself. I think that may be very true on the short term, but we have to find other ways to make ourself needed in society. Paper books will be less important, no question about that. So what will the library of the future be about? A question to ponder about I think. I do hope our management ponders about it as well....

I had another lovely lunch stroll near the area with houseboats. You can see some more photos on my Flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.