Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Sunrise and Sunset

Today's sunrise and sunset -- both were significant.

The hours between were stitched together with numerous emotions as students received their last graded projects, submitted their Final, and said their goodbyes -- some with enormous "thanks" and some questioning "why" they were failing.

All semester, the best class of the four classes was the last class of my week. Today, the best class was again my last class, and the finale was stirring -- a hug that said more than words ever could and quick glances with big smiles that expressed genuine appreciation, statements like "I've never learned so much!" and sighs of relief as they tallied their scores and experienced victory. One student said to me, "If college were easy, everyone would have a degree."

I told them their class had been my great pleasure and wished each of them loads of future success.

Then the classroom emptied. I gathered my teaching tools, voiced my "thank you" to God for a job that stretches me and blesses me to the Nth degree, turned off the lights, closed the door, and concluded the Fall 2013 Semester.

The environment here at "fun-ville" is "celebration."

Good night from Southern California,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

P.S. The six-week winter session begins immediately following the New Year. I am thrilled to not be teaching during winter. The spring semester begins on Monday, February 17, 2014. I'm thrilled to have a couple months out of the classroom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.