Dotspan

By Dotspan

"GOOSE COLLARS"

In search of a blip today I drove by Centerport Bay. It was low tide and I noticed a flock of birds feeding in the shallow water. I was surprised to see that 3 of the geese had orange neck bands. When I got home I began to search the internet and found out that wildlife scientist attach these neck bands to study goose populations and to track routes of migrating geese. Orange bands are used in the Mississippi Flyway.

Wish I had a stronger lens so that I could read the numbers on the collars and make a report . . .

Blipping has opened my eyes in so many ways. I'm amazed at the new things I am learning especially about countries I'm never been to. What a joy to be part of this wonderful BLIP community and be able to explore the world . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.