Consider the Lilies

By skambalu

#Advent 8: "You are standing on holy ground"

Then he said, "Come no closer! Remove the sandals from your feet, for the place on which you are standing is holy ground." He said further, "I am the God of your father, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob." And Moses hid his face, for he was afraid to look at God.
Exodus 3:1-6

I could have included a photo of the Forth Road and Rail Bridges, the cold, wet rain that welcomed us back to Scotland, a photo of home. I almost included the angel at the top of my sister's Christmas tree - a bearer of good news on many occasions in the Advent and Christmas stories. Or, in keeping with the God of all the ancestors, a photo of our family tree, which I finally got to share with my parents.

But the main event of today: my parents' fortieth wedding anniversary, their Ruby anniversary. We had a party, a meal, at my sister's home for them. Lots of lovely seventies' food - prawn cocktail, melon and ginger, beef bourginon, and the piece de resistance, homemade baked alaska. And these red velvet heart biscuits!

Truly, standing on holy ground.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.