TREACLE TART

Not just any treacle tart, but Cinnamon and Orange Treacle Tart with Vanilla Ice Cream, at The Box Tree no less!

Never did I think I would partake of a lunch time dining experience at The Box Tree in Ilkley, but this is where we were taken for our office Christmas lunch. Boy, were we well behaved. Little angels, all of us. Please, thank you, and could one pass the butter, if one would be so kind. The butter was a sculpted rose on a square of slate; we only passed it round so we could gaze at it in wonder. Piano music tinkled soothingly in the background, and waiters hovered to replenish our wine, if Madam or Sir so wished.

My earlier courses were Pumpkin Veloute with Goat's cheese and roasted chestnuts, then buttered turkey with all the festive bits. It was truly memorable.

What a grand treat.

Now I just have to save up to take G there because it doesn't seem fair that I have been and he hasn't.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.