Skeletons

The small area of Access Land which I call my Patch (even though I range quite a bit further) is proving to be a great place for wildlife watching. I've been visiting on average once a week for nearly 6 months now, since we moved and seen lots of nice things. It looks so very different now from when I first started visiting regularly in June, as the bracken has died back and the trees are bare, so that the ruined stone walls and old workings are clearly visible. It's also easier to see the birds flitting about. Today, I was delighted to see Redwing and Fieldfare attracted by the many rowan berries at the top end, yellowhammers, bullfinches, robins, a wren, chaffinches, bluetits, blackbirds, starlings, rooks, jackdaws and crows. There were also a couple of ladybirds in the foliage of a wilting plant - I've seen more of these in the last month than I saw throughout the Summer. I nearly blipped them, but I liked the tracery of these teasel and hogweed heads.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.