neoreoscar

By neoreoscar

What's it all about?

Struggling with the whole 'trying to ignore Christmas' thing.

If you don't have money, you can't participate. But the longer I'm without money, the less I want to spend the little I have on 'stuff'.

I'd really love to buy gifts for my friends and family, of course - it's really horrible not being able to - but when did Christmas become all about how much 'stuff' you can buy/get? I don't need stuff. I don't want stuff.

I'd rather have time, precious time with the people I care about. Time to talk, laugh and really listen. Time to let them unwind, relax and open up enough to hear about their dreams for themselves.

I'd rather have the power to bring far-away friends close, to be able to look into their eyes, to see their smiles, to hear their laugh. To take their hand in mine and to hug them tight.

But all these busy people frantically buying presents and lugging great big bags full of shopping are just trying to express the same thing. It's all about love. Just, somewhere along the way, it's been a bit distorted, into 'stuff'. I wish it was simpler.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.