Dotty

By Dotty

Panto Pandemonium

I don't think I've had a better mum day than today.

I ran home after work to get changed and then dash to school to help Charlie's class decorate some buns they'd made in the morning. I couldn't get over how different girls are from boys... I still can't quite get over it. The boys are adorable and scrummy, especially as they are growing up and battling cuddly little boy with wannabe macho big boy, but the girls are so precise and focused on the tiniest detail: none of the boys' Santa faces had eyelashes! Some of them did look more like Cheryl Cole than Santa, though...

Then home to make early tea and then take Teddy back up to school to prepare for his panto. Then Charlie to Jack's to play Uno and then back up to school to watch an amazing production.How a tiny primary school managed it, I have no idea - but it did. With aplomb. It was the school's first ever pantomime: I hope they've begun a tradition.

I saw a letter to a head teacher doing the rounds on Facebook today - a suitably scathing response to handy tips on how to continue and consolidate your child's education in the holidays. I thought then how lucky we are to have our head. Now I'm doubly sure.

(And I never imagined I'd think this - but Teddy needs to do more drama: he genuinely became a different person on stage. It was quite astonishing.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.