Appreciation

By Appreciation

The sky was so dark today and the rain was never far away. The castle at Blackness, near my mum's sits out on the headland looking like a picture from a tin of Shortbread. The water lapped gently today and a sense of calm descended, for a moment at least.

As I walked to the car this morning an older gentleman chirped 'Good Morning' and I was reminded that we don't do that enough these days. So often we pass, heads down, avoiding people's gaze, when all it takes is a simple Good Morning to set a smile and lift the heart! I shall remember that and do it more often, even if I am branded the local nutter.

Talking of nutters, a bomb scare at school this morning meant a day off. It was received with delight. My boy is exhausted between his football and paperround, not to mention his general Santa excitement. It would have been good for him to rest up today, although by the sounds of it he spent the day on the flippering machine with his pals.

I vow to make my cranberry sauce tonight. That always makes me smile. Those first few smells of the familiar spices, orange, cranberries and port just send my head swirling. I may even sit down with a little sherry afterwards and soak my feet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.