AliV

By AliV

Glad

This isn't my choir - this is a wee group of the choir who sang some songs in French before we sang at our concert. I didn't understand a word of it, and not even sure what it was called, but it was great. There was also a barber shop group - who doesn't love a barber shop quartet!!

It's been great 'season' at choir - I've got to keep my traditional side happy with some beautiful Purcell - (sung here by Choir of Guilford Cathedral...a bit more pro than us!) http://youtu.be/TVaOKC60GAU]

I've LOVED learning about Sacred Harp music and belting it out to some bemused audience members (The Last Words of Copernicus) http://youtu.be/TWmCplTgflA

But most all I've learned who Judee Sill was. We were presented with her song to learn (The Donor - http://youtu.be/PwoBhSkvT0s) and the melody is absolutely haunting. She seemed to be someone that either people had never heard of, or people had heard of and they couldn't believe no-one else had. I did a bit of reading into her, and was taken aback by the amount of tragedy and upheaval she had in her life, and how it impacted her music. A fairly depresssing but interesting article here In the Observer

Anyway - I relished in hyperlinks tonight as I'm on a laptop for once, not my phone, and I hope you don't mind me indulging a bit :)

We do it all again tomorrow afternoon for the matinee - but there's some other bits and bobs going on during the day so I probably try and Blip something else.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.