Good ol' Charlie

He's my favourite author and this is now my favourite coin.

Charles Dickens means a lot to me. Our forms at school were named after Dickensian characters, I worked my backside off as a waitress and barmaid at the hotel he used to stay in, I spent ages in the Guildhall Museum and the Dickens Centre on the High St finding out more about him, I spent the first 20ish years of my life visiting and revelling in the history of the streets and buildings that inspired some of his work. I was even lucky enough to spend quite a bit of time at Restoration House (Satis House in Great Expectations). I'd made friends with the girl that lived there and was able to look into its nooks and crannies. It's in different owners hands now and open to the public.

I still get a thrill when I go back down south. My visits always live up to expectations :-)

By the way, I saw knickers in Home Bargains today with a built in butt. For that streamlined, seamless look apparently. A built in solid butt! What the hell's going on?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.