One Step at a Time

By thepoacher

The Tree

Taking a shot of this tree will have been on the todo list from day one this year so it's strange really that it hasn't featured until now. I had mentally envisioned this against a nice sunset but the lie of the land doesn't really allow for that. Plus there wasn't much of a sunset today. So, I've settled on this shot which a. accentuates the silhouette and b. conveys what a cold, dark afternoon it was. I could have lifted a lot more detail out of the foreground but I don't think there's any point.

Of the tree itself, it is, as far as I can make out completely dead and has been in this state for at least ten years. One day it will no doubt succumb to the wind but for now it's my favourite dead tree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.