Kangaroo

By Kangaroo

Colours of blood and wine.

I am not a Christian. My upbringing was and the denomination I was raised in was Presbyterian according to my father's upbringing in a devout Presbyterian family. Where my mother lived in the bush when she was a child, whoever came of the various religious to tend to the needs of the people was welcomed and their gathering observed. Because the Salvation Army came regularly on horseback and because the Army's witnesses made up a corps of hospital workers who were helpful to her family when the parents were ill and the family subsequently bereaved, she identified herself as that religion in her heart.

My mother's special cousin belonged to the Seventh Day Adventist Church and I stayed with that family frequently and they visited ours. I recall enjoyment of the ritual as dear to me as any experiences I had in my birth home. I moved easily between the environments and felt cared for and loved.

I attended a State school in Queensland for Primary and Secondary School. Three times a week for 1o years I attended at the Roman Catholic convent where I was taught music at that school of music. My teachers were the nuns and in my final two years the Mother Superior Cecilia. I enjoyed my many hours in that companionship.

For many years I have not claimed a religion and I do not follow an observance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.