Suddenly I See

By Gipper78

The New President & The Jazz Legend

Tonight, I went to the Lincoln Center Jazz Center to hear Northwestern University's brand new president, Morton Schapiro, speak to New York-based alum for the first time. Mr. Schapiro was amazing -- such a terrific and engaging speaker. I was very impressed.

After the event, I walked around the Jazz Center and I saw references to legends like Wynton Marsalis and Duke Ellington. It reminded me of Mr. Larry Lucey, a man I got to know over the past two years -- a man who played in this special place many, many times during his long life.

Mr. Lucey passed away a little over a month ago. If you would like to know more about his incomparable talent and fascinating life, see The New York Times article that appeared in the A section the morning after he died:
http://www.nytimes.com/2009/08/18/arts/music/18lucie.html?_r=1&scp=1&sq=Kateri%20+%20jazz&st=cse

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.