Christmas dinner is served

I went up to the packaging recycling bin and then to the letter box with the two addressed and stamped cards that I had found beneath a heap of other....stuff. I have emailed the intended recipients to tell them to expect a sort of NY card.

On my way back along the Shore I stopped to scatter a few bread crumbs over the Water of Leith. The cygnet was nearby but uninterested, probably having stuffed his crop with titbits from Giuliano's cook, but the black-headed gulls went into a total frenzy. When a young man arrived with the end of a white sliced loaf in his bag, their joy was unconfined. I quickly put on ma bunnet, as there was a lot of potential dive bombing going on.

On R4's Pick of the Year I happened to hear a short extract from Malala Yousafzai's address to the UN Youth Assembly in the summer and am glad I sought out the full thing. It's only 17 min long but she got a standing ovation - and it was interesting to watch the body language of the high heid yins sitting behind her. I'm sure I saw the Secretary General and indeed our own Wee Team supporter who was sitting right behind her affecting a slight itch on one cheek....tears not being the done thing. I do hope that Madiba heard this. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.