bevhumphrey

By bevhumphrey

...This house has been far out at sea ll night....

Had intended to go on a decent length walk today, but the weather made that a stupid idea, so it turned into more of a drive with some short walks along the way.
I guess many of us will have been kept awake last night by storms. I found myself tormented by not being able to remember the words of a poem that came to mind for obvious reasons..."Wind" by Ted Hughes. So this morning over my toast I had to find it on my bookshelf. My version of this is in a book I absolutely love called " Elmet", which is Ted's "Yorkshire landscape" verse alongside Fay Godwin's photography of all those places he wrote about.....Hebden Bridge, Heptonstall, Hard Castle Crags, Widdop, Haworth and the moors. I live not far from all these places, used to live nearer and used to be able to run the fells around Widdop. It is bleak, harsh scenery. So without thinking about it much I went driving in large circles today with that poem going over and over in my head. Did get out and do some walking, but it wasn't easy, and taking pictures was pretty difficult so in the end I gave up and dipped down from the moors to Hebden Bridge and got some fish and chips along the canal.
This picture is taken from the Todmorden Valley before the rain got to heavy to have camera out. Best of a bad bunch, but the colours of the hills were still good.
Home, fire lit and red wine open to thaw out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.