Old Friends

Okay, so I scattered some bird seed for the little brown ground feeders and the pigeons found it. I surrender. Shoot me. Yes, in blatant defiance of my landlord’s rule of no bird feeding, I snuck a handful of seed into the flower pot where the little guys check thinking I was getting away with something. Actually, I’ve been doing it for quite some time and it’s been working just fine. I put the seed under the big bushes or in the flower pot and the little guys find it and all is well. Today, however, about 100 pigeons descended on that flower pot, mostly all at once. They don’t shoo either. I tried that, hoping nobody would notice, but the sound of 100 pigeons taking off all at once is daunting, so I’m pretty sure none of us got away with anything. I’ll lay low for a few days and hopefully the pigeons will go elsewhere. I do miss the little dears, but there are a lot of them and I truly understand my landlord’s ban. Sadly, the ban affects all the other birds too. I just have to be strong and hope all the little ones are finding adequate food elsewhere.

There's nothing particularly special about this picture except that I loved the little guy on the left -- it's looks like he's on his tip-toes and it made me laugh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.