City Boy

By kwasi

The Singing Bowl

Music is the language of the spirit. It opens the secrets of life, bringing peace...... Kahil Gibran

Today it poured from when I woke up until mid afternoon. It was a busy day. In the morning, knowing I was going out with the entire family to see the Lion King and then on for a pizza meant that I needed to find a blip. I find this difficult for I am completely new to DSLR photography and my aspirations are, on occasion, defeated by my lack of skill! However, I experimented in the morning. The rain meant that I had no opportunity for outside blips so scoured the house. This Tibetan Singing Bowl is one of my favourite pieces.

I bought it on impulse in an open market two summers ago. The seller encouraged me to test each bowl saying that the bowl would choose me for each one has a unique sound. I laughed, but did find that one bowl attracted me beyond all others. It is used to signal the start and end of meditation. I simply find its humming song deeply attractive. It is played by striking the rim of the bowl with the red padded mallet and running the other tool around the edge to obtain a continuous sound. I tend to ask to to sing each time I go up and down the stairs for it lies in the window on the landing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.