730 blips

A double anniversary for me today.

Three years ago today I went into hospital to have surgery to treat cancer. I knew then it would mean nothing would ever look the same to me again. I didn't realize it would mean I would take it so literally and take up photography to prove the point!

I started taking pictures when I got out of hospital, having never really had much of an interest before. I went walking each day and the goal was to pick something that made me feel happy and photograph it. It was fab and I was hooked on it.

So, when I signed up to blip two years ago I had zero photographic skill (as you can see!), I started blipping with my ancient Canon Ixus, and didn't really have a clue what kind of images I wanted to capture. But I have so enjoyed using the time I have been blipping to discover my love of street photography (in the main) and to admire the diverse array of images we are all shown on this site each day.

I just wanted to say thanks to all the blippers who have dropped by regularly over the last two years. I have learnt a lot from the comments made and from other journals. Please take a seat at the celebratory table, you've earned it!

I had an idea of selecting a favourite image from each journal I subscribe to and had made a start, but found it impossible to narrow it down as there are so many splendid images. I would encourage you to have a look at my 'favourites' for many fine images I have enjoyed from *your* journals.

Here's to blipping into 2014!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.