Diver Driver

By diverdriver

Sublime to the Ridiculous

Why is it I always feel the same way about London.

I enter via the M1 and get to London Gateway, look across at the new Wembley in the distance on my right and think, yeah, there is something about London. There's a buzz.

And then after the first 24 hours of constant traffic, sirens going and shops open 24/7, busy streets full of faceless people on a mission and caring little about what or who goes on around them, crowds on tube trains drowning out the world with their ipods, reading their books, magazines or throw away papers, and I think..............I just want to go home.

What a stark difference to where I was 7 days ago in one of the most remote parts of the British Isles, where everyone knows everyone in the town, the shops close at a reasonable hour and stay closed on Sundays and where, within minutes you can be in the peace and tranquility of open countryside.

Maybe mine is a cynical, stereotypical and 'outsider's' view of our capital city, but then I'm just not used to it.

Apologies to Londoners. Good job we are all different eh?

This is the wet and grey view from where I am working this week. And I have seen this change over the last few years; from the old and well loved Wembley through building site to the finished article. Maybe I'll get to go inside one day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.