Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

New Year's Night

Our daughter phoned early this evening to ask what we were doing. They needed to stop over to get our son-in-law's sweatshirt that had been left here Sunday. He's planning to make the drive tomorrow from here back to the San Francisco Bay area where his office is currently located and where he has an apartment. He is the VP of a construction company.

Yesterday was her 45th birthday and she says it was a good day. We are thankful for that. She used to hate the day of her birthday because it was impossible to have a birthday party as everyone was focused on the holiday. I don't think that bothers her anymore.

These two have been separated for the past 18 months. I know he would like to be back together, but I'm not sure what she wants and I don't ask. I do listen and try to detect what she is thinking and what she is desiring. I'm not sure I always know.

They've been married 25 years, which seems to me like a huge investment and a relationship worth working on and making it better, but I'm the mother in this scenario, not a best friend nor a professional counselor, so I don't know that she'll accept or take my advice. If she ever asks for my input, I'll certainly give it.

Well, Mr. Fun's knee surgery was two days ago. Tomorrow he'll get to remove the huge ace bandage and then move the knee even more than he can now. He's in a little pain, but nothing like before the surgery. The doctor gave him "off work" orders for 4-weeks because the interior of his knee is very inflamed and wounded from the debris that's been floating in there for the past year-plus. Getting the knee 100% healed is now our focus.

So we're probably going to get out of here in the next day of three, head for the Central Coast, so he can focus on getting his knee recuperated and healed.

Happy New Year from Southern California,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.