Typical Rural Scene!

Last time Ollie and I walked down to Sandwick I spotted this old tractor so this morning I thought we'd go back and I'd get a blip of it. It is along side a whole lot of ruined buildings, a couple of old houses, byres and steadings, all in various stages of ruination.

I find it quite sad and moving to see the old buildings falling down. Once they have been reduced to a pile of stones their names will be forgotten and their history too. Often the farms have been bought by existing farms and the land amalgamated but the buildings just left to decay. There are a lot of them in this area, the farmers aren't keen to sell them and for folk wanting to build, it is usually easier to start afresh than renovate.

And if you are interested in rusting old agricultural machinery, this is the place to come!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.