Aliscotia

By Aliscotia

High tide in Lyme Regis

We knew the rain was due to come in this morning so Robin and I popped by the Cobb at 9am ready for high tide and before the storm. As expected a few intrepid photographers were on the Cobb, about a third of the way round, to get the dramatic high wave shots and a few hovered near the end and then ducked below, like me, to see the waves running down the harbour wall. This guy got a lot closer than I did! I'm afraid I feel nervous walking the Cobb on a calm day so there is no way I'm getting up there with high winds and a high tide. I also don't want to risk salt water in the camera! Anyway, I think this gives you an idea of the ferocity of the water. Although inside the harbour wall the water was calm it was the highest I have ever seen it, lapping over the pathway. We could tell by the debris deposited around the harbour it has obviously been much worse than this over the past few days. It's now 11.30 and blowing a gale and the waves are crashing even higher as I look out the window, maybe I should invest in some waterproofs for me and the camera!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.