Marychristine16

By Marychristine16

MORE FOOD REMEMBERED

This recipe comes from Pam Erickson, probably the cook that influenced me most in my younger days. A colourful adventurous personality, larger than life and filled with energy and joy, she cured her own hams, introduced me to the delights of Melba toast and baked huge sponge cakes garnished with berries and cream when I was more accustomed to heavily iced cakes decorated with hundreds and thousands.
These dried breads were called, according to my recipe, "Pjax Battnar" which she told me referred to eskimo shoes. Being South African I re-named them "Veldskoen". My husband getting the name wrong referred to them as "pantoffels" (slippers) and it looks like this name will stick.
A tin full of these dried breads is great during the holidays and will expand any meal. The children love them, always a plus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.