aging hippy

By aginghippy

Fall Colors VII

Rain , wind , black skies , chilly weather so decided to spend the day in the studio and work on my lighting techniques with some still life photography !

Now that would have been fine if I hadn't decided to concentrate on fall colors.

" Oh no ! Here we go again " I hear all you fellow blippers say in unison.

No , really , but seriously , wait a minute. I decided I needed some apples and leaves for my still life and as you all know store bought apples are covered in wax and are all perfect looking as if they were made from plastic. Well yes , I know they taste like plastic but that's another story for another day. Suffice it to say you can't bake an apple pie with plastic apples. I know , I've tried :-))

Anyway I needed fresh fallen leaves as well , so off I went with bucket in one hand wearing my wellies in search of the perfect apple. Not as easy as you might think since all the good looking ones were just out of reach . Ok so just give the tree a shake and what do you get ? Apples ? No. Leaves and twigs ? No. Water ? Yes. Gallons of it down the neck reminding me not to go apple picking in the heavy rain.
Finally after a while I had 5 apples and a bucket full of leaves. No wormy ones ! I know as I inspected them all very carefully and also all of the [147] leaves for black spot and major blemishes. Perfectionist that I am. " Raving loon that you are " according to Margaret and I don't think she's comparing me with the Canadian national bird either.
Mentioning Margaret leads me to the next part of the morning's escapades.
So there I am bucket in hand , muddy wellies , soaked from head to toe , twigs , leaves and assorted wildlife clinging to my Tshirt, but even so feeling rather pleased with myself.
" Where do you think you're off to with that lot ? " I hear, accompanied by an accusatory look.
" Just off upstairs to the studio , dearest , oh light of my life. " I responded tenderly.
" Not like that you're not! Dripping rain and depositing mud and goodness knows what else all over MY floors! Get changed in the garage, clean the bucket and then if you pass inspection you can go indoors. " Was the emphatic response.
" Actually , technically it's OUR floors darling ! " I exclaimed standing my ground.
"Changed! Now!"
" Yes dear " ..........

Here , after several hours , is the result of the studio work. It's called " Still life with Apples " hehehe

Oh and I forgot to mention that while I was in the studio the rain stopped, the wind died down and the sun came out .....
Have a good weekend everyone......

douglas

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.