Mates

By Mates

He's not ready.

I think by this point I was starting to feel like an actual cartoonist. I had figured out white space, my characters had expressions - and pulling off a panel in which Tad is able to do more than just stand still and look shocked was a major achievement. I think I went nuts for a little bit having them bounce around the panels, once I figured out how to do it.

The courtship of Tad and Frank continues - I have to say, it was a bit more cathartic when I did the college strips if only because I was working out whatever relationships Frank and I were having in basically real time, with the entire campus watching. But it's very sweet to read these and remember when I was newly out and going on my first date with a boy - freaked out, sure, but an amazing sense that life was finally about to start. Or I pulled a shirt over my face, I can't remember.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.