The Eagle's hunt

Today the sunrise was nothing spectacular, other than it was the sun and not snow! I decided to try and find some wildlife instead. Most of the lakes are now frozen, so I had to find some place with open water to look for ducks, geese or with any luck, an eagle. I went to a place with a dam, so the water was flowing there.
My husband was with me. I parked by the open water hoping to see something interesting. There was a flock of geese and a few ducks swimming in the lake. We waited for a few minutes and nothing unusual was happening. Then, for no reason the birds all started to fly away. I jokingly said to my husband, as we were driving out of the parking lot, "I wonder if they are all flying because an eagle is nearby".
Just then a huge eagle flew over the car, straight for the lake. He had determination on his face. I took this picture through the window, as I was turning the car around to see where he went. Within a few seconds he was chasing a duck in the air. I don't think he got him, because within a minute he was flying back over the lake, searching for more prey. He was moving fast, so this was the best shot I could get. He flew across the lake like a flash!
I love searching for wildlife! Always something interesting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.