Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Wet feet

Went for a walk at lunchtime down by the Itchen Navigation, the walk of choice with my kids when they were small and we lived that side of the City. This is where we used to picnic and where my daughter learnt to ride her bike one birthday. We called it 'the daisy field', but there weren't any daisies showing today - as you can see the canal bends round on the right and the field on the left is under a foot of water and mud, though the path between was 'dry'!

I once saw these plane trees with water and mud marks a good 6ft up their trunks, but I never found out how that happened - probably someone playing with the sluices, though as a serious explanation it didn't make much sense..

Anyway, today they just had wet feet - and so did I when I got back.

Enjoy the rest of Thursday xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.