Croft16

By Croft16

An aura in the NW..

..or the beast from 58 degrees..

The forecast (many available on the web) for tonight's aurora are ranging from 5 (quite active) to around 2.5 (quiet). I've been out for an hour or so, and seen banks of clouds racing across the sky. Overhead may be perfectly clear, but as the clouds head Northwards, they seem to pile up on the horizon, blocking any hope of seeing anything.

I've taken a few long exposures, and quite pleased with this one. Exposure was around a minute in moonlight. Those are sheep down by the bay in the bottom right. I think the four bright stars middle top are the head of Draco.

And didn't Tanni do well sitting there for a minute!!

12:45 and I've just been out again. Can just see the moon through cloud, and no stars. Aurora alert is now showing 2.67 for the next hour. I think that's it now..

..and my camera must still be on BST, because I took this at 11:56 pm yesterday, but the exif shows 0:56 am - Don't tell blipcentral!!..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.