Mandy's Snaps

By mandyarmstrong

Ladybirds hibernating

So I found myself wandering around one of my favourite Summer haunts – Highdown Gardens. No bees and butterflies yet, but there was a hint of life in some of the plants. And it was there that I found these two. Unfortunately, there was a little fence dividing us, and a few gardeners around watching. So I precariously balanced the tripod on the 'other side' and attempted zillions of pics trying to get underneath the leaves to see them properly.

I had no idea that Ladybird's went into hibernation. I'd never really considered what they did in winter, but when I came across these two sheltering under a leaf, covered in dew and clearly not going anywhere fast, it prompted me to google further information.

Bigger may be better :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.