Picnic in the Park??

The oh-so swollen River Avon at Fordingbridge, before sunrise this morning.

Look in LARGE at the stranded picnic benches and the beautiful multi-span medieval bridge (Blip) the red trail lights of a lorry going over it. The white sign warning of deep holes is normally on dry land and the river is (usually) well behind that! The pub to the left of the bridge that has wonderful riverside views and seating, has been closed due to flooding for some time, so my brother tells me.

Despite my going on about my new Slik tripod legs, bought yesterday, it was a good opportunity to take the old Slik 88 back down to my Dad's, where it's been kept in his garage, since my late teens and so I used it here. I also took Wellington boots to wade about getting these - I am in about 8 inches of water here - but took a change of footwear for the bus and for visiting my father.

An incredible day, weather-wise, so warm and bright, it was like spring - many images taken both here and around the New Forest when I took Milo for his (extended) walk.

The only spoiler was the 50 minute late bus, for a half hourly service. That was intolerable and when two buses came - the other empty, not apology, no reason. If you think the trains were bad, then their service is a thousand times more prompt and courteous with at least you being told when you might expect the train and a loo to visit and probably a waiting room and possibility of coffee and food too. I'm so fuming, I'm going to post this and switch off the PC for a good few hours, lest my wrath boils over into comments etc!!

Lens is Nikkor 18-200mm VR

Huge thanks, again, for ALL you darlings in getting my ridiculously long star-trail exposure Blip of yesterday up to the very top of the Spotlights - where it held out all through the peak hours and beyond.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.