A Wonderful Life

By Ellie123

Skateboard Graveyard

As you walk across Hungerford Bridge along the London Embankment you can see a large pile of broken skateboards and a few discarded gym shoes thrown over the bridge onto an inaccessible pier. I've often walked past this and assumed this was just a cool thing to do started by one of the many groups of youths who practice skateboard tricks at the close by, well known Southbank Centre Skate Park.
However, today I found out that this was originally set up as a memorial to a skateboarder that was murdered at this spot in 1999. Two young guys were beaten up on the bridge, their skateboards thrown in the river and then their bodies also thrown over the bridge. One of them survived and the other drowned.
This spot now has some deeper meaning to me and I'll feel sad each time I walk past it : (
I wonder how many other Londoners realize the significance of this pile of boards.
I was lucky enough to get a shot of the river early this morning before the weather turned and it got damp and cloudy again.
On a brighter note, we spent the afternoon at the Natural History museum where I wanted to go and see the Wildlife Photographer of the Year competition exhibition (which was awesome).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.