Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

The Art of Sleep

Dogs know the true art of sleep. They know exactly how to find the best spot, get comfortable, forget what is happening around them, tune out the background noise and just catch the zzzzzs. People can be racing around them, stepping over them, talking loudly, but dogs just screen it all out and sleep.

I've often wondered what the idiom "let sleeping dogs lie" really means. Several references suggest that to "let sleeping dogs lie" is to leave things are they are, and to particularly not restart or rekindle a previous issue, or to not instigate trouble. The idiom suggests that if I were to awaken a sleeping dog, I would regret the action. Yet even when I disturb the sleep of my pups, they never get upset or cause trouble or have a previous issue. They merely move off to another comfortable place and go back to sleep. Hmmm, maybe there is greater wisdom here.

So I did a little research. The idiom originates from way back in the 1300's. Now all of you English Lit. people know this, but I was rather fascinated to find that Chaucer may have been the one who first coined the phrase, or in his words "It is not good a sleeping hound to wake" (my spelling, not his). But the person who made the saying popular was none other than Charles Dickens. O.K., I admit it. I am an uneducated American.

So, with this said, I think I will go find my sleeping dog, cuddle up with her and learn how she does it.

Thank you all for your great comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's long exposure. I hope that you all had a wonderful weekend, and that everyones' teams won their respective games, and that everyone is happy, healthy and having a good time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.