SLPlearning

By SLPlearning

Just Another Manic Monday

This song used to be one of my favourites back in the day. Don't really think I knew what a manic Monday was then though.

It's been manic today. As I wade through mountains of papers and application forms, this is only half of my current to do list, I am reminded today especially of the people who have contrbuted so much to ensuring that adults who missed out in their schooling could get a Second Chance to Learn.

I am priviledged to know some of the finest minds in adult learning, some really kind and good people who have been there, when the magic happens, and know what it's all about. But today was tinged with some sadness too, questions of why we are still a generation behind in making Scotland a more just and equal place to live and work were on my lips. Some of what I looked at today was written twenty years ago, maybe before its time then but surely not now.

Today I had to write and re-write in five different ways the description that details the needs of some of our most disadvantaged communities.

What dawned on me is that we still have a lot of work to do, our children's lives will only be better if we change their parents, grandparents and families lives too.

So I've asked out learners' forum not to waste a single opportunity to make sure that our people can access the best adult learning available, to help us change the face of poverty, to help make Scotland the best that it can be.

I used this photo because I haven't been outside once today, and I think I may have a few more days like this to follow, but I'll find a better snap tomorrow, maybe one to cheer me up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.