Street Corner Society

By StCornerSociety

The GFT

When I was a PhD student I lived in various locations around Glasgow including Partickhill, Anniesland and Dennistoun. The most memorable tenancies I've ever had (and I've lived with many people in Worcester, London, Oxford and Glasgow from aged 19 - 35!) was a City Centre flat, just around the corner from the GFT, owned by an Iranian live-in landlady who shared her house with four post-grad students. She seemed lovely when I looked around....BUT.....

On the first night I was given a set of 'rules' (which only just about missed off how loudly you could breathe!). There were post-it notes attached to everything; including the bath towels (instructing you how to hang them up and the washing machine telling you how many clothes could go in). When you came in the front door there was a post-it-note telling you take your shoes off and walk quietly. If you turned to face the porch door to leave the property there was a note telling you to shut the gate quietly, etc, etc. Eventually, this drove me crazy.

One night I got absolutely *pished* and thought 'f*** it! I'm leaving my shoes on!' and stomped all the way to my bedroom breathing very loudly. She came out and told me I had to go - she couldn't take any more of me and my wild ways!

I had an awkward week or so of having to live there while I found somewhere else to go (a friend came to the rescue!). I spent every single free night at the GFT avoiding her! It as a good week - the GFT is one of my all time favourite places. It was a refuge then and funnily when I moved back to London the GFT was one of the places I missed the most. Good to be reunited with it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.