Mini Sunflowers

Inspired by the beautiful sunflowers that blippers have treated us with I decided to grow some myself. Because of the wind there is no use growing the big ones. The only places protected from the wind get hardly any sunshine. I bought seed of a variety called "Petite Bouquet." described as being knee high. I sowed some seed two months ago and put them on a sunny windowsill, hoping they would be ready to plant out when the worst of the frosts were over. However, they could not wait. Already two have flowered and three more have buds.

These little sunflowers are 15cm (6 inches) tall and the flowers are less than 5cm (2 inches) across.


After the ewe trampled on the garden where I was intending to plant my onions I was glad I'd procrastinated. Yesterday I planted out 85 plants that I raised from seed. This morning I discovered what the lamb did before he was trapped between the hedge and the fence. Two thirds of the onion plants were bruised, broken, uprooted or pressed into the soft soil. I wish that I had procrastinated longer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.