Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Reading

This was meant to be my photo today for my 100 happy days challenge, but then I went and forgot about it.

William and I came down for breakfast before Carys was awake. He wandered off into the conservatory while I made breakfast. When I went to get him this was how I found him, engrossed in a book. He has suddenly found a love of books, helped by the fact he can recognise a lot of letters now and some simple words and is constantly asking anyone who will listen to read to him. He has the whole Thomas the Tank Engine set of books (65 in total!) and he has had them all read to him many times. I actually read one at bedtime tonight I haven't read before, but that is rare these days. Like his sister, if I can't hear him at the moment, it is usually because he has his head in a book. Not something I can complain about really.

It was such a lovely afternoon that I took W out on his bike. I took some lovely shots of red berries on a tree against the blue sky, but my boy had to win for the blip. This afternoon has made me decide he really does need a new bike, before he either comes a cropper or gives me a heart attack. The bike he has is fine, bar the fact he isn't strong enough to make the brakes work. They are as loose as they can be but the design means that they are just to tight for his little hands. You can imagine what an ordeal this can create in our undulating part of the world! So a word with Daddy is required.

Once we were back he chose to do some of his maths book and then we played Shave the Sheep for nearly an hour. Roast chicken dinner for all at teatime, well for Jim, Carys and I. William ate the mash, broccoli, baby sweetcorn and sugar snaps, refused the parsnips (as did Carys) and the chicken! thing that gets me is he used to have roast chicken regularly at his child minders, equally he ate cuumber and peppers for her (and at Pizza Express) but you would think I was trying to poison him if I gave him the same.

Carys has another horrible sealion night time cough and is tired and ratty. She looks like a ghost bless her, but is fighting going to sleep with quite amazing results at the moment, to the point of me needing to wake her in the mornings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.