Crunchity

By crunchity

Victoria Street

Probably my favourite street in Edinburgh, and not just aesthetically. Met my partner 20 odd years ago when she lived on this street. My brother was married here, at the registry office (India Buildings if you wanted to be pedantic). I worked for a while as a pot washer in the Grain Store restaurant on this street. I saw a good few bands here too - first in the Preservation Hall (that was a great place, wasn't it?), then in the Liquid Rooms, a highlight of which was the White Stripes in 2001. (if you are getting nostalgic, head here: Edinburgh Gig Archive).

I have stumbled down it drunk on more occasions than I would like to admit - remember The Mission? And the Bow Bar continues to be one of my favourite pubs in the city. I've bought many a well-thumbed paperback in the wee bookshop at the top of the street, and a good few smelly cheeses from Iain Mellis. ...And today a big pulled pork roll from Oink. Yum.

Victoria Street I salute you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.