bevhumphrey

By bevhumphrey

X marks the spot.

Not a treasure hunt map, sadly! Due to a complex investigation I have been trying to gather information relating to the size and public access to the old asylum estate in the 1950's and early 60's, on which our current hospital stands. Much of the land is now covered by 24 hr Tescos, motorway ringroads and housing estates etc. Our Estates dept gave me this today..an old cloth map from 1962 which was just fascinating. The full map is about 4ft square and is incredibly detailed....I've chosen this portion as it illustrates well the sheer scale of the site and the fact that these institutions were like small towns...own church, farm, slaughterhouse, water supplies etc etc.
Sorry, but I didn't get any time out in daylight today...which I hate, so it had to be another work blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.